Soup: A humble, rainy day essential.

IMG_0546

Yesterday, between writing class assignments and running off to work, I squeezed in a little break  so that I could make some roasted poblano white bean soup. I’m kind of slow in the kitchen, so I wasn’t sure if I could finish everything in time, but it was so, so worth it. It’s spicy, comforting, and much lighter than what we had the other night.

P pointed out the only thing missing when he said, “Eating this makes me wish it was raining outside…”

Well guess what, folks? It’s raining this morning! So I’m still in my pajamas, eating more of this delicious soup, and taking it slow before the intensity of the day hits. Thursday is one of those days that just drags on and on for me!

IMG_2564Just a few notes about the recipe:

It says the prep time is 15 minutes, but it’s definitely not. Even if you’re the fastest onion-chopper in the west. This is a slow cooker recipe, but I’m sure you could make it on the stove as well.

I’ve never cooked with poblano peppers before, so I only included half of the seeds, just in case it would be too spicy. That ended up being just right for us. If I had to put it on a rating scale, I’d say it was equivalent to medium salsa. I also added a few dashes of Tapatío instead of Tabasco (trust me, if you haven’t tried it, it’s an excellent hot sauce). If you do decide to try this recipe, make sure that you have lime wedges to squeeze over the soup right before eating, because the lime takes this dish from good to amazing. 

Let me know if you try this recipe, and if you add anything else into the mix… in the comments of the original recipe post, someone suggested putting some kale in the soup, and I’m curious how it would change things!

3 thoughts on “Soup: A humble, rainy day essential.

Thoughts?

